The Konrath effect

Yesterday I came across an interview with J.A. Konrath… and then his blog… and then I bought one of his ebooks off of Amazon… and I was ready to bash my little head in. He writes 4,000 words a day. He’s thumbed his nose at the publishing industry by self-publishing his own books and making a crap-ton of money in the process (crap-ton is an actual unit of measurement, btw). And he isn’t afraid to tell the rest of us how it’s done.

It’s encouraging to know that consistent hard work pays off. Konrath’s blog bio reads, “There’s a word for a writer who never gives up… published.” But in his post about his self-published ebooks outselling his traditionally published ones, I had to ask whether that was because he was already popular. A fellow poster replied that she made 25k in eBook sales as a complete unknown.

I’m hearing that more and more often. At the recent Writing Matters panel in Montclair, another self-published author talked about how he self-published and eventually got six-figure deals with two of the big 6.

More and more, writers are taking matters into their own hands. Amazon has their own publishing platform. Barnes and Noble launched one this week. There are countless print on demand publishers. Between Amazon, B&N and POD, pretty much anyone can become their own little writing factory. The only thing I’m still confused about is how do you get people to know about your books and buy them? I still haven’t gotten a satisfactory answer from anyone.

But it’s interesting to see so many writers taking charge of their own destinies. Many have felt that they were pawns on the board, and now thanks to writers like Konrath who are very encouraging, they’re running their own plays.

2 Comments

Filed under writing

2 responses to “The Konrath effect

  1. The best way I know of to get people to know about your Kindle books and buy them is to post on the Amazon boards and Kindleboards. One has to do this carefully, as a lot of readers don’t care for promotion on the Amazon boards. Overpromotion can bite you in the rear. But if you study the matter carefully and approach the boards in a polite, friendly, chatty manner, it works (not that I have sold 25K books!). This can help your books get onto Amazon’s bestseller lists, which helps drive sales too.

    I haven’t gotten my books up on B&N’s PubIt yet, so I can’t say how one gets noticed over there:-).

  2. Thanks, Ellen.
    I know that people don’t like when authors do a hard sell, but I am very intrigued by one Twitter promoter, @GeneDoucette who has been hawking his just-released book. I think you’re right that it’s the approach.

    Relationship-building is probably the most important part to getting the sale when you’re an unknown.

    Good luck on PubIt! And do let me know how your book fares over there. Would you share your title for the KwP readers so we can check it out?

Leave a Reply

