Deathly Hallows part one

Now that I’m finished with my NaNoWriMo novel. (Yipeee! Yay! Hooray!) I can get back to all the literature I’ve been missing in the month of marathon typing. But first, we have to talk about HP7.1. You’ve all seen it right? It’s been out a WHOLE weekend. Sheesh. I know people who’ve seen it multiple times already.

I went with a buddy of mine who re-read the book prior to heading out to see it. She regretted this because there were a lot of thing that the movie format didn’t support, like the fact that Harry is charmed to look like someone else during the wedding scene. Or the tension about him touching the golden snitch because of its flesh memories. And the fact that they used the invisibility cloak pretty much all the time in the book, but it doesn’t get any play in the movie.

Fortunately, I hadn’t recently re-read the book, so I was more forgiving. I loved all of it. Nothing stood out as particularly more outstanding than any other part, but I did like how the tension was increased, and then cut with humor to give my poor brains a break. Harry and Ginny’s kiss followed by one of the twins with a toothbrush sticking out of his cursed ear. The dancing scene with Hermione. The scene where Ron destroys the horcrux, followed shortly by the hilarity of Hermione’s continued anger. It’s a good note if you’re a writer. It can’t be all tension and craziness.

On the ride back from the movie we talked about all the details that went into the creation of the entire series, and how they all get served up in the finale. It’s quite a juggling act for an author and I have to applaud Rowling. I don’t know how she managed to do it, but she deserves every penny she made from those books. It’s a lot to aspire to if you’re a YA writer (like me, but I try not to compare myself, or I’ll go totally nuts).

Anyway, you have the floor. Did the movie live up to your expectations?

4 Comments

Filed under writing

4 responses to “Deathly Hallows part one

  1. Like you, I didn’t re-read the book before going, and I think that was probably for the best. I liked the whole movie except for the gratuitous nudity. I’ve got no problem with nudity in literature or movies when it moves the story forward, but in this case, it was only there so that Hollywood could show Harry Potter and Hermione Granger naked and kissing. The story part of it had already been accomplished in the previous frames. But otherwise, it was pretty well done.

    Now we just have to wait until July.

  2. I was taken aback by the nudity as well. Though many adults enjoy the series, it is for kids, so I thought it was inappropriate.

    I am looking forward to part 2 myself.

  3. Loved it! (except for the part mentioned above where I was like WTH?)

    What amazing plotting skills…

  4. Excellent plotting skills, indeed.

Leave a Reply

