#@$%ing thieves

For weeks now, a Greek website has been stealing the content from my blog. WordPress is unable to help me because it’s not a WordPress-run site, so I have to figure this one out on my own. I know I’m entertaining and all, but to steal my words… it’s so… low. My favorite part is that this particular Greek website is called ParentsFight.BetterSchools.net. So, it’s a website that bills itself as a parent support site or an education support site, but it steals everything it gets. I’ve looked around. They’re just thieving bastards.

I really hope they steal this post too so that whoever reads their site knows that they are a bunch of internet hoodlums.

While there’s no internet police I can go to to cuff these nimrods, WordPress support gave me two articles which may help.

http://www.plagiarismtoday.com/stopping-internet-plagiarism/3-finding-the-host/
http://www.plagiarismtoday.com/2009/07/16/6-steps-to-find-a-hosts-dmca-contact/

Both tell you how to go through the web host to ban the site from stealing your stuff.

I hope none of you ever have to deal with some disgusting piece of crap cheating a-hole plagiarizing your content, but if you do, at least you have a little information on how to deal with it. As I go along, I’ll let you know how the problem is solved so that you can add that information to your arsenal, but for now, just be on the look out for web mobsters.

10 Comments

Filed under news, writing

10 responses to “#@$%ing thieves

  1. Ugh! So sorry you’re going through this. I remember a post on the Absolute Write forums (blogging section) about how to deal with copyright violations. I think there’s ways to protect your work. I don’t have the link handy however. If you’re a memeber there, you can look it up.

  2. Thanks very much Sonia. I’ll check over there.

  3. Sorry to hear about what happened to you. Feel free to drop me a line if I can be of any help. Thanks for the links to my site thought! They are greatly appreciated.

    Hope that you’re able to get the resolution that you want!

  4. Hanna Wilbur

    It happened to me too; but lucky me, they wrote my name on it :P. Okay2… we do have to be on a look…
    Anyway, it shows that your site is AWESOME
    ^_^

  5. Thanks for your helpful site, Jonathan. I’ll definitely contact you if I need some more assistance.

  6. Hi Hanna,
    I’m sorry it happened to you as well, but it’s still not OK even if they give you credit because they’re using your words without your permission. The thing is, if someone asked me to re-use a post, I probably would let them. But that’s not what’s happening here. It’s stealing, plain and simple, and it should not be allowed.

  7. lastchance3

    If it makes you feel better, someone started spaming people with the name honestypolisee in it. The only thing you get when you google that is my blog so I’ve been getting some very nasty e-mails. Sorry to hear about your blog!

  8. Oh man, that sucks! Why do people do these things?

  9. Anna Kim

    Hi, I found your blog when I tried looking up this group since I’ve been getting some pingbacks from them. I don’t know if it’s because of your post, or if it’s some other reason, but it looks like the group is now linking back to the original posts. I guess it’d be nice if it had asked before taking, but at least I’m getting credit.

  10. That’s the problem I have, Anna. I think it’s fine to re-post from someone’s blog as long as you state up front that’s what you’re doing with an intro of your own, and don’t post their entire piece, but put a “teaser” with a link back to the original author, OR if you ask the person’s permission first. Otherwise, it’s plain and simple theft.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

