The Thought-Crystallizing Idea-Finding Word-Harnesser

Every night as we writers drift off to sleep
Thousands of ideas suddenly creep
Into our heads and rattle around
Each one is pure genius, fantastic, hands down

But the maddening fact that plagues every writer
In this weakened state it’s not easy to muster
The energy to rouse and pin those thoughts down
So they’re fleeting, and “poof!” can never to be found

Oh the woe of losing those precious creations
It’s enough to drive one to procrastination
As writers bemoan the loss of their words
Lost genius, lost characters, those brilliant lost worlds

But now there is a miraculous invention
It’s a writer’s best friend, a wordsmith’s salvation
It suctions pre-slumber ideas from your conscience
And protects them from the tragedy of non-existence

The thought-crystallizing idea-finding word-harnesser
Will be an essential tool for every creator
Just strap on the suction cups, put your hand in the loop
And every dreamy idea will be forever recouped

Never waste your creativity a moment longer
Those beautiful ideas won’t elude you forever
No more loss of genius to fuzzy confusion
Boost your novel’s word count with this sleep revolution

When you wake in the morning your prose will be prepped
Perfectly spelled, formatted and grammar-checked
Only $995 for this digital dream-catcher
Get your own thought-crystallizing idea-finding word-harnesser

6 Comments

Filed under cartoon, writing

6 responses to “The Thought-Crystallizing Idea-Finding Word-Harnesser

  1. I’m only a writer in my head, but I would have loved that during my weeks of psychedelic chemo dreaming! I still have total recall of the craziest ones.

  2. I need one of these things every night. I get the BEST ideas when I’m drifting off. Of course my husband says I’m mumbling rubbish, but what does he know?

  3. If only….I always have great ideas right before I go to sleep, or when I wake up in the middle of the night. The problem is that I’m too damn tired to pull out a pen and paper and right them down! Loved your poem!

  4. MindMindful

    SO much genius is lost just as you say. Your invention? Put me down for 1 regular, 1 portable (because I lose a lot of FABulous ideas when I’m awake too:)

  5. A portable one! I need to invent a portable one!

Leave a Reply

