Book banning makes me want to dance.

It’s banned books week. And thank goodness. Everything that is horrible, morally lacking, and unfit for human eyeballs is listed pretty much everywhere this week so I can find them! Ah, freedom. It smells like old library. I’m so grateful for book banning and challenging, I can’t even tell you. You’ve probably already heard about how Rainbow Rowell was disinvited to a school district to talk about her novel, Eleanor and Park. I might not have heard of Eleanor and Park if it wasn’t for that. And now I can buy the book. Here! Stuff like this keeps happening, right? And usually backfires, showing people like me what they should be reading, giving authors loads of press, and showing the world who the morons are and how they find new ways to couch their censorship talk.

But probably my favorite, favorite thing about censorship is how much it reminds me of Footloose. Can you ever get enough of Kevin Bacon dancing? I know I can’t. So the next time someone bans a book, do like Kevin Bacon. Dance in the headlights…all the way to the bookstore.

Go here for all your banned books week activities. Enjoy.

9 Comments

Filed under education, writing

9 responses to “Book banning makes me want to dance.

  1. I have come across many BOOK BANNING posts and this is my FAVE so I shared it on Facebook

  2. Aw! I’m glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for sharing it! :D

  3. I love that movie, too . . . and probably for many of the same reasons you do.

  4. Tracey I have an awesome giveaway swing by my site http://www.thebridgeofdeaths.com .Hope you win ! Okay what is the movie? I feel like a loser here !

  5. @Maria It’s Footloose! With Kevin Bacon! I’m sure it’s on Netflix. Rent it this weekend. You won’t be disappointed.

    @Deb what’s not to like about that movie, right?

  6. I have heard of it, it is the old one from the 1980s? Because there wasa recent remake

  7. Yes, the 80’s one. And yes, there was a recent remake, which I have tried to wipe clean from my memory! :D

  8. marizlife

    I am in love with the book Eleanor and Park! Maybe it does have a few swears… ok, a lot. But it makes the story seem more believable and real.

  9. I’m going to start reading Eleanor and Park soon. I can’t wait! Everyone loves it.

Leave a Reply

