Drive Carefully, School’s In!

It’s the first day of school, when everything seems as fresh and new as a blank composition notebook. In backpacks everywhere is the papery smell of new books, wood chips from freshly-sharpened pencils, and the synthetic sweetness of plastic pencil cases with the insides still stuck shut.

There’s no new class for me; neither as a teacher nor a student, but my kids are facing their first day with excitement. This means that for 3 blissful hours today, I have solitude.

Already my mind is cooking up ideas and organizing itself for work. But first things first: my office is a shambles. Over the summer a pile of knitting projects, camp drawings, toy bits, game pieces, museum brochures, clothing catalogs and kids’ meal innards have made their way onto, under, and around my desk. And before I can write even one single line, I need to clean that bad boy.

But for the next few minutes, I’ll sit in the backyard, enjoying the quiet, fresh air, and the thought of a blank notebook that I can fill with new things, because now I get to write my own curriculum.

What do you want to learn this year?

