Mallomars are not enough

Writing is hard. Some days I spend a lot of creative energy finding ways to motivate myself. Since I like food, rewards often come in the meal or snack variety. But I also like shopping, so big rewards come in the form of clothing and accesories. I am a poor writer, but a well-dressed (and well-fed) one. Think Carrie Brandshaw without the hideously long face and enviably flat abs.

Since getting the old “thanks-but-no-thanks” from Simon & Schuster, I’ve started a new story. It’s been brewing in my mind for a while, but this time I decided to just buckle down and do it. I don’t have any other projects on the horizon anyway. The way it works with me is: the more I write, the more inspired I get. Stories tend to take on a life of their own at some point, and with this story, it has taken off unexpectedly fast.

With that momentum, I decided to set a goal for myself. One month. Impossible you say? Not necessarily. My first novel only took 6 weeks to draft, and that baby got sold immediately. Plus, one of my buddies did a competition where you have just a few weeks to write an entire novel, and she did it! AND I know that James Patterson, or one of those genre novelists would lock himself in a hotel room for a month and emerge with a completed best-seller, ready to go.

So… I think I can at least write a draft in a month! But just in case, I have a prize for the finish line. This time no mere mallomar (or box full of mallomars) will do. There’s a rather expensive but beautiful and totally-worth-it Cole Haan handbag waiting to hold my completed manuscript.

Wish me luck. Or eat a mallomar. Either way.

