Multi-story-ing

It’s always handy to be working on a few things at a time. I have an idea in the ol’ skull, notes for something else on paper, a story I abandoned in the recessess of my computer files, and something half-done that I printed out once.

Now that I’ve let go of the new novel (#3 for anyone out there who’s counting), I decided to go back to my first love, a picture book manuscript.

I started working on it last Christmas, inspired by the season and my kids, and decided to finish it for want of something to do, and hoping for success where the novel was not bringing me any. Turns out, that was a good move. The story worked out well, and quickly. Since I hadn’t thought about it in months, it was easy to give it a fresh eye. And because it’s short (12 pages), I was able to type it from scratch, just using my previous notes and story outline as a guide. I had a couple of people read the draft with good response, and then I pursued it in earnest, really shoring up the vocabulary and images.

In an uncharacteristically bold move, I decided to mail it out to my agent today. No obsessing about each word or punctuation mark, no fretting over the images, the mood, the setting. I felt it was good, and I sent it out, and if she doesn’t like it, she’s sure to let me know soon enough.

And that, my dears, is THE END of that.

