Divided We Fall

 

Michelle Bachmann on Hardball

Michelle Bachmann on Hardball

With all this unpleasantness about who’s anti-American and where the Pro-American parts of the country are, I’d like to take a moment to appreciate my buddy Heather.

Heather’s conservative, one of a few of my friends who regularly vote Republican. Here’s one of the many things I appreciate about her. As long as I’ve known her, she has always been able to have earnest political discussions without them turning into screaming matches, competitions, or either of us resorting to name-calling.

Gov. Palin

Gov. Palin

We both realize that people have different opinions about how to get to where we want to go, but that we all want to move forward in a way that is best for everyone. It’s respectful disagreement. The Palin and Bachmann comments are so disrespectful; it’s troubling that either is in a position to influence others.

 

 

Finally, God (yes, I’m invoking the Lord) gave us two legs: a left and a right. We move forward by using both. Otherwise, we’d just be spinning in circles. I don’t know when everyone is going to realize that to move forward, we need to listen to and honor both sides. It’s like an equation. Life, politics, all of it requires balance. I believe Colin Powell when he said that the Republican Party was moving too far to the right. And likewise, I believe it is possible to move too far to the left.

United we stand, divided we fall.

Does anyone remember that? Keith Olberman has a good take on it.

One thought on “Divided We Fall

  1. heather (the conservative friend) says:

    Tracey!! What a compliment you just gave me. You know that is my goal is life-to hear all sides without judgment…and to figure out what is best for everyone! I think you have summed up the need to work together SO very well! I think this is why we are friends! Luv you!

Comments are closed.