What’s in a Name?

Since I’ve given up on the last novel I was writing, I decided to return to one I started over three years ago. I abandoned it after finishing the entire manuscript, came back to it about a year and a half later, and abandoned it again. This is my third go at it. Let’s hope three’s the charm.

Over the course of each edit, I’ve changed the main character’s name three times. She is a scrappy 10 year old, living on an island, and forced to deal with magical creatures. The names I’ve been using are: Corinne, Giselle and Ever.

Ever lends itself to the fairy tale theme of the book, and is a name I happen to like quite alot (though not enough to name my own daughter Ever), but the other two have their own appeal. Corinne reminds me of the Spanish “correr” which means “to run” and my heroine spends a good deal of the book running. In fact, it opens with a chase. Giselle reminds me of something graceful, and is also a French name, and since the action takes place on a French island, Haiti, I thought this would be a good choice.

So I ask ya, which of these do you like?

One thought on “What’s in a Name?

Comments are closed.