Losing Friends and Influencing Characters

After the recent election, I lost a friend who opposed my political view. At least it seems that way. We have not spoken since Nov. 4th. Then last week, another friend of mine called to say that I had been taking her for granted. This is entirely possible. I take many things and people for granted, and store up my appreciation for them to present in a grand way, like with a hat I worked on for a week, or by sending a surprise letter in the mail. It wasn’t so much the taking her for granted that was steaming her, it was more that I didn’t inform her of something I was doing with my kids. She’s clearly deranged. I mean what I do with my kids is my own business. But this is only in this particular case, and I know the source of her derangement.

The thing is, in both cases, I’d love to not be upset. I’m quite cavalier about both situations on the surface, but in truth, they’re both painful (though to different degrees). In the first case, I’m just insulted. It’s so weak. I didn’t drop her because of her political views. In the second, I’m understanding about what is clearly a psychotic break, and I’m over it and want to end the icy chill, but I have no idea how to break the ice.

So what do I do instead? I let my characters break up in my novel.

In chapter 12, Corinne and her buddies, Dru and the brothers, have a fight over what they’re going to do to save their little fictional world. Dru is nervous over a recent revelation about Corinne’s true nature, and Corinne uses the opportunity to send her best bud packing, and then turns on the boys who she also drives away. She then ends up sitting by the sea feeling sorry for herself.

This is basically where I am right now. In that little space of limbo before I figure out what in the hell to do. I’m sad to say that I think my main character will figure out her little dilemma long before I do. Fictional characters are so friggin’ lucky sometimes.

