knitting vs. writing

I have been knitting non-stop for weeks. My poor novel is not forgotten, but I haven’t written anything. I’m still rethinking my approach to it and getting a fuller idea of the world in which it’s set. Still, nothing’s on paper because my hands have been busy with all the lovely yarn. I’m anxious to get back to it, but nervous too because I still don’t know what I’m doing, and the fact that neither of my two recent manuscripts have been picked up is not doing much for my writer’s self-esteem. My novel went out 75 days ago, and my picture book went out 46 days ago. Yes, I count. I have a handy iGoogle “days since” counter that does it for me so I’m not sitting obsessed over a calendar. But while I wait, the Christmas gifts are calling and with 17 days left to go, they demand their due attention.

mmm... purple

mmm... purple

This weekend I needed to pick up a couple of things at Michaels to finish some projects and I came across a purple Pattons Soy yarn that I couldn’t resist. I’ve never knitted with a soy yarn before. I love the color (the photo doesn’t do it justice) and because there was only one lone skein available, i found another skein from another comapny, Moda Dea in the same color but a different texture. It’s fuzzy. I’ve never really worked with fuzzy either.

I need a hat. Desperately. It was 27 degrees this morning and I was frozen. I’m hoping that I have enough time after all the rest of the Christmas knitting to make myself something that will keep my noggin warm, keep my massive amounts of hair at bay, and still be pretty. I’ll be developing a pattern later this week, but it will probably be based on this one from Purl.

