Day 3 on the Island…

I’ve said it before… sometimes, being a writer is like living alone on an island. You have no one to talk to. You survive by your wits and ingenuity alone. You send out messages and most of the time, nothing comes back. But this year, determined to kick my career into high gear, I’ve been focusing on work, and what it really takes to be a writer.

With my synopsis due, I’ve been trying to get to the end of this draft. I can’t write the synopsis without it. Besides, the end is the best part of this particular novel because it’s the most adventuresome part. It’s fast-paced and filled with suspense. It would be great if I could keep that pace for the entire novel, but a lot of it is emotional too, and there’s no way to fast-track the emotional parts.

I’ve written 829 words today. I like to get to 1000 a day, but 800+ isn’t bad.

And yesterday, two of my contacts came to me with potential writing and editing jobs. Sometimes sending those messages do pay off.

This morning I picked up 2 books that I ordered as research for the next novel, and I think I’ll spend the next hour reading through those before I have to pick up the kids and my work day is pretty much over.

That’s it. Day 3. Island living is pretty simple, and I like it that way.

