Stephenie Meyer Bio begins

Yesterday I started skimming articles for the Stephenie Meyer biography. After 53 articles, I have a nebulous idea of how I could structure the book, but I still need to read them through thoroughly, and I’m still trying to figure out if I can get an actual interview with this author.

Publishers are notoriously guarded about requests to contact authors, and are expecially so when it’s an author who is extremely popular and making them crap-tons of dough. I think the likelihood that I’ll get to speak to SM is small, though it’s in everyone’s best interest that I get all the facts straight and write an interesting and informative book. But, we’ll see. I’m not sweating it either way. The book will get written regardless.

I’ve found that I’m pretty¬†fond of the non-fiction stuff even though I prefer to write fiction. It’s really informative. Plus I like having to find the underlying story and use the facts to shape an interesting story. It requires a different skill-set than writing fiction, but it’s no less creative, so I’m looking forward to starting my notes.

What I’m not looking forward to is trying to get my hands on all the Twilight books. Every single library in Bergen county is out of copies. Sadly, I can’t afford to buy them. Well, I could, but… if I bought all the books I needed to do every biography I wrote, I’d be seriously broke. Meyer’s list is pretty small, but imagine if I’d done that for the L’Engle and Spinelli bios? The money I made wouldn’t cover the cost of covers!

Alrighty. Back to work. Those articles aren’t going to read themselves.

Oh, and if you happen to be Stephenie Meyer and happened upon this page while googling yourself, would you contact me for an interview? My editor and I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

