Agents are handy

I quite like my agent. I’ve even sent another author to her who was looking for representation. She’s really nice. Plus she cheerleads when she loves my writing, which is surprisingly often, and feels terrific. But here’s my fave: when I get rejections, rather than my having to see an envelope in the mail and open it with fear and hope and anxiety, she gets them, and then sends me an email that says, the story “came back” from X publisher.

I’m no fool. I know that came back = no. But somehow it doesn’t feel quite as bad as when she sends me the letters or the emails themselves. It might be that she detected my hurt from the last email rejection, but whatever the reason, I’m just happy I don’t have to face those bad boys alone.

Sometimes I worry that she’s not looking critically enough at my writing, but I have to trust her judgement, even if I can’t trust my own. She does have a National Book Award Winner among her many clients, after all. I’m a neophyte compared to them, and a struggling one at that.

Writing is hard. And lonely. And often sucky. And that’s why agents are handy.

If you are looking for an agent, I recommend Writer’s Market’s 2009 Guide to Literary Agents. I used the Writer’s Market guide to find mine.

2 thoughts on “Agents are handy

  1. yecarth says:

    Hey CK! I do love my agent, but she might not be the right one for you. My advice is to pick up a copy of Writer’s Market which puts out a list of agents, updated every year. Think about what you’re looking for in an agent and go through the list to find those that match up with what you’re looking for. Then you can follow their submission guidelines (to the letter). That’s what I did to find my agent. It takes a little work, but totally worth it to find someone who meets all your requirements. Remember, they’ll be working for YOU.

    Good luck!

Comments are closed.