Survival of the fittest

It’s Darwin’s 200th birthday today so it seems especially appropriate to talk about this.

I got another six rejection letters for my picture book manuscript this week,¬†and my agent tells me that she’s sending my novel to Little, Brown. Naturally, all this information put me in a bit of a tailspin, and I was seriously considering whether I’m really fit for this profession, but just as it’s always darkest before the dawn, a new novel has been brewing, and started surfacing in the tough patch this week.

It’s hard to pick timing for these things. Sometimes, stories just appear. But I’m also working on a few freelance projects, so balancing my schedule is getting tricky. Considering the economy, I’m happy to get any paying jobs,¬†though the stress is all-consuming.

My sanity and emotions are frayed, but work is still staring me in the face. This is one of those times when only the tough survive.

I’ll let you know how it goes. So far… no good.

