Very, very busy

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Freelance is sometimes very hectic and right now I’m working on a bunch of things, plus fighting off some mysterious ailment that’s making me tired. I give it one more week before I visit a doctor. Probably a bad idea to wait. Remember what happened to Jim Henson? Yeah, but right now I just don’t care.

I finished all of the Twilight series. It only took a week. The last book took me the longest because it was a tough one for me to get through. Now I’m reading “Thirteen Reasons Why” by Jay Asher, who I met several years ago at an SCBWI conference, and who I count as an all-around good guy. So far, so brilliant. I’m considering Asher’s book as my break in-between projects. My brain is seriously fried after a very technical editing project for an educational publisher, so the thought of reading through my very many Stephenie Meyer articles and making notes right now is unappealing. Plus I still have massive amounts of research to do on the various websites and blogs dedicated to loving or hating her. Poor woman. I can’t imagine.

In my personal writing, things are at a standstill. I’m waiting for my F1rst Pages editor to get back to me with corrections on the last novel I sent in, even though I’m probably going to abandon that novel entirely. It won’t be the first time. I have been trying to write that one since before my debut novel was published in 2005. This is its third incarnation beneath my fingers and I still can’t get it right. Sometimes you just have to let go. I’m not sure what it is about that story that keeps wanting to get told, but right now, I’m way too exhausted to seriously consider continuing.

That might all change if Harold comes back with positive insight. My moods are very tied up in what other people think. It’s awful, really. I’m not sure if that’s the nature of artistry and if Hemingway and Picasso went through such angst over the reaction of other people to their work, or if my emotions just run too close to the surface and I have no self-esteem to rely on.

Despite all of this, I seem to have a bunch of stories forming in my head. I wish I was in a better emotional state. I might be able to pluck one out of the air and start working on it. But illness and mental exhaustion from other projects prohibit this, at least for now.

The good news is that if my current work rate holds, I’ll meet my financial quota for the year. I feel pretty good about that.

One thought on “Very, very busy

  1. haynay says:

    I’m glad to hear that it wasn’t only me that lovely editing was making tired. I could barely speak at the end of the day…i could only walk to bed and lie down!

Comments are closed.