Ashes to ashes

It’s Ash Wednesday. Catholics are lining up for their fish meals and crossed foreheads. Me? I’m thinking about what I’ll give up or do for the next 40 days. I’ve given up cussing, escalators, candy, said novenas, the rosary, done charity work and many other things, but this year, I plan on doing something really hard. At least it is for me. Probably the most difficult thing I’ve ever attempted. …

This year, I’m going to give up being hard on myself. 40 days of only kind and gentle thoughts about myself. No critical thinking. No second-guessing. I have a feeling it might take the entire 40 days to remember to stop myself from those automatic negative thoughts, but this Lent, I’m going to give it a try. Maybe by Easter I’ll have something personal to celebrate:¬†an end to the constant self-criticism that does nothing but make me miserable.

Man, Jesus had it easy. All he had to do was tell the devil to shut the hell up.

