15,435

I’ve written quite a bit of the Meyer bio (the title tells how many words), but it’s all disconnected and I still don’t have a good idea of the narrative as a whole. If I were publishing separate articles, it would be great, but I’m not. I have no idea why this project is so difficult. I definitely didn’t labor over the Jerry Spinelli and Madeleine L’Engle biographies like this. I have one week to get it together. It’s time to get really creative.

In other news, Harold got back to me about the novel, and he still thinks it needs considerable work. That shows you how much I know. I thought I was close to being done. He did call me out on a couple of cop-outs, which I kind of knew I was doing, so that was good, but he’s still looking for more of an epic feel, and thinks that I need to take some more time to let the action develop and build. With my bio deadline a week away, it’s hard to think of working on the novel right now, though doing both might help to use different mental muscles and balance the other one out.

I don’t know. I’m having one of those what’s-the-point days. Think a nap would help?

