Stressed? Eat a raisin

A few weeks ago, my husband handed me an article from the November/December 2008 issue of Psychology Today about Mindfulness. I get stressed out easily, and these days, with nobody buying my fiction, no freelance prospects in the near future, and my non-fiction projects not paying enough for me to live on (even if I were a small child in a third-world nation), the stress is nearly crushing.

One of the experiments described in the article included a University of Georgia study in which some subjects were asked to eat raisins, savoring each one, and concentrating on its taste and texture and the sensation from eating it. For those participating, it had a calming effect.

This morning, I poured myself a small bowl of raisins. My son promptly took it, but he was willing to share.

Small/hard/rough/crunch/small sweet burst/stuck.

It doesn’t fix the economy. It won’t get me a sale. My bank account is still empty. But as a coping strategy for the stress, it wasn’t too bad. At least it got me thinking about my writing. And at the end of the day, it’s the writing that will  get me where I want to go.

