I took a break. My story didn’t.

After working on Harold’s suggestions all day, I decided to take the kids to the park. It’s nearly 70 degrees outside. Stunning for March. I needed a break, and the kids have been asking to go to a particular park for a while now. I figured I’d be able to read while they played. I didn’t. I spent the entire time running from one side of the park to the other while they both went off in different directions with children they met and immediately became BFFs with. Friendship  is so easy for them, it’s nearly ludicrous.

Well, while running around, my brain was working on the story that had been occupying me all day. Phrases, descriptions, lines of dialogue just kept popping in. And being in a park filled with happy loud kids, there was no way for me to go back to the car, get a notebook and pen and start jotting ideas down. Sometimes, you just have to let things go. I figured they’d be lost forever. I didn’t even try to come up with some kind of mnemonic device to remember them all.

After about an hour, we headed home, I gave the kids a snack, did the dishes, and then the ideas began to nag again. Turns out, I didn’t forget them all. As soon as I started scrolling through the manuscript, there they were again, waiting at their appointed spots, for me to get them down. Now, an hour later, I’ve finally exhausted all the “break” ideas.

I’d work longer, but the children are restless. In an hour, they’re going to be hungry. I better figure out what we’re having for dinner.

