An author for FREE! (yes, really)

One of the best things about writing for kids is getting back into the classroom. Teaching was a love that I gave up in favor of publishing, but in writing for children, I get to have the best of both worlds. The only problem with getting back into the classroom is:

a) letting schools know that I’m available

b) getting educators to see the tremendous value of my visit for improving students’ connection to literature, and

c) the cost

Well I have the cost problem solved. I recently joined a network called Skype an Author. Over this network, classrooms or libraries with an internet connection can have me visit their classroom via computer. I’ve done this before with a program called GoTo Meeting, and it’s worked well.

For FREE I will do a 10 minute Meet-the-Author visit. A full hour-long¬†visit will cost a bit.¬†Granted, it’s not as dynamic as a face-to-face meeting. You won’t have the advantage of my slideshow, but having done it, it’s still quite valuable for the students involved.

A free or low-cost author visit? Want to know where to sign up? Right here.

