Success, rejection, and my very own critic

SUCCESS: So it seems that people like vampires and zombie cats. The blog stats had  quite a jump the last couple of days after Chapter 1 of The Vampire’s Zombie Cat went up. I wasn’t able to  post yesterday (having fun with friends) but I did check the stats last night. Well, Chapter 2 will be up soon. Don’t you worry. I won’t let you go long without your zombie cat.

My editor on the Meyer bio likes the direction that I’m taking the book. His main suggestion was to switch the placement of one chapter. I’m relieved. I’ve pretty much written the entire thing already, so if he didn’t like the sample and the outline, I’d be in real trouble. I felt pretty confident, but still. Relief.

REJECTION: My agent stockpiles my rejection letters and sends them along to me as a group. I didn’t want to read the last set, since she’d pretty much told me what was in them, but I finally decided to anyway yesterday. This was for the picture book. It’s hard to write a Christmas story because there is only a limited time that you can have that out, and many editors were concerned about competing products. Some were concerned about the length (too long) and another said that it wasn’t quite strong enough. I suspect it just wasn’t strong enough for any of them. If it were, they’d be happy to put it out there to compete. I wonder how I deal with “not strong enough” criticism. That’s a tricky one. It encompasses the entire project, it’s not like you have to re-work one area. I may just have to let this one go.

MY VERY OWN CRITIC: My son likes me to tell him stories at bedtime. Two nights ago after I’d finished a story, he issued the following critique: “That’s not a good story, Mommy. It didn’t have any princesses and super heroes. The super hero needs to save the Princess.” Sheesh. Even my two-year-old gives me rejections. At least he also gives me hugs and kisses.

