Denial didn’t help

Tuning out didn’t do anything to help my situation. I still have loads of work to do (and I have no time to knit either). Yesterday I got contacted about another freelance project, and I have to take it. I take EVERYTHING that comes my way because writers (86-91% of us anyway) need any paying job we can get. Having another project on my plate sent me into a panic about the Meyer biography which is due in a little over 4 weeks. I have been ignoring it for the past 3 weeks, and that is just not good. So I started working on it again this morning, only to get stuck and frustrated and ended up face down in my sheets bawling.

Well, that’s no good.

I’m back at it (well, not right this second) and I’m determined to polish off the first chapter by the end of the day. OK, maybe by Friday. Then I can spend the weekend working on chapter 2 (if my children let me, since my husband is out of town on business again). And I have no idea when this new freelance project starts.

Aaargh. I might have to say no to the new project. There’s only so much I can do.

Wondering why 86-91% of writers need to take any paid work they can? It’s based on a 1994 New York Times article in which the Authors League Fund (a charitable organization that helps ((helped?)) writers in financial need) was polled to see how many writers were making $$. Turned out that only 9% of writers at that time earned their annual income from writing. The Times noted that, bleak as that number was, it was actually down from a 1979 Author’s Guild poll. And also, a 2004 article by Erica Jong (which I can’t find, so you tell me if you have) that says that only 14% of writers earn all their income from writing.

