Writing is an act of ego

After my last rejection, I felt I needed a writing course. There had to be some reason my book wasn’t connecting with editors. I read a few reviews of books about writing and came across On Writing Well by William Zinsser. It’s a book on writing non-fiction. I write both fiction and nonfiction, so I ordered it from the library.

This morning, in the first 23 pages, I came across the lines, “Believe in your own identity and your own opinions. Writing is an act of ego, and you might as well admit it. Use its energy to keep yourself going.”

Zinsser advises writers to be themselves. I’ve heard “write what you know,” but never “be yourself.” It seems simple and obvious, but I don’t know if I have ever really considered that as I wrote.

I think I’ve hit upon a revolution.

2 thoughts on “Writing is an act of ego

  1. Anna says:

    I have a friend who experienced the same thing—conradictory opinions and advice (and so have I). Her response (which I adopted) was, “If you don’t like mine, then write your own damn book.” It feels good to say it out loud to rejection letters. 🙂

    Anna
    from Rav

Comments are closed.