Looking out for Lola

Something is going on. Something bad. Lola, my laptop, suffered a mysterious crack last week that is making my wireless internet connection wonky. So I’ve had to plug into an external jack. I can still walk around with it, but POOR LOLA does not look as pretty wtih a prosthetic! And then for the last couple of days, she will either not turn on, or turn off unexpectedly.

The IT department (my husband) is baffled, but still thinks Lola is fine, though he did mention getting me a desktop machine for my office. No! Lola will not be replaced! Not even if it’s just on my desk.

I have been backing up my work often to avoid too much data loss. Yesterday, I started the chapter 5 endnotes, and about half-way through, Lola shut down, and I had to start all over again. It wasn’t terrible, but now I’m saving after every change. What I need to do is a complete data backup since I haven’t had one in a couple of weeks.

It’s funny how I’ve come to rely on an inanimate object so much. But Lola is my bread and butter and my main means of communication with the outside world. I’ve gotta look out for my girl.

