Holy verbosity, Batman!

This morning before the kids woke up, I completed a little over 11,000 words on the rewrite of my latest novel. I’m still following the Book in a Month guidelines, and so far I’m really pleased with both my pace and the results. Other writers in the group have loftier goals than my 40,000 words in 30 days. One of them is trying for 100,000. I take my hat off to you, dear writer.

In a related post this morning, a fellow wordpress blogger has listed the top 10 longest novels. A couple of them top a million words. Holy  smoke. I know the disappointment that comes with knowing you’re about to turn the last page of a book that you’re completely involved in, but I wouldn’t know what to do with a story that stretches for the length of a million words. Of course now I’m trying to remember how long Les Miserables is. I think that’s the longest novel I’ve ever read. Or the longest book I’ve ever read for that matter. Although right now I’m reading Minders of Make Believe which is about the history of children’s book publishing, and man, it sure feels like the longest book I’ve ever read.

What’s the longest book you’ve ever read?

