Works in progress

Recently someone asked what I was working on now. The list is long and varied:

I’m writing test passages for one educational publisher. Can’t talk about that on account of the non-disclosure contract.

I started to do research for a biography of Sharon Creech. The outline is due in December and the finished manuscript, in February.

I’m editing a health/math textbook for some nutritionists who are developing their own program for New York City schools.

My brain is also juggling a) what to do about the novel that was just rejected; b) the novel I recently started but haven’t got a good bead on; and c) the novel that I have a good draft of that needs to be revised and made ready to head out to publishers.

I recently decided to raffle off a classroom visit so that I can push my first novel past the point of earning out its advance.

And next month, I’ll be making an appearance at the New Jersey Association of School Librarians.

What I like about freelancing is that it forces me to think in a bunch of different ways. I have to be a teacher when I’m doing the educational stuff, an editor when I read though things other people have written, a technical writer for test passages, a creative writer for everything else, and I have to think like a marketing person, a PR person and a business person when I try to come up with ways to sell my work, book presentations, DO presentations, and write to editors/agents, etc.

It’s a lot of different hats to wear, and it’s tough, but I think  you’ll hear that from every small-business owner on the planet. The thing is, I work for myself and it’s very rewarding to know that every ounce of my effort goes directly to things that benefit my family.

So tell me what you’re working on!

2 thoughts on “Works in progress

  1. Uninvoked says:

    Wow. You have a lot on the table right now. I sure hope your attempts to push your book past earning out its advance is successful. I’d love to know more about how that goes. ^^ Thanks so much for posting an update on your WIPs. Your thoughts are very intriguing.

Comments are closed.