Nat’l Book Awards Vote

This weekend I got a postcard from the National Book Awards. This one wasn’t telling me who won this year (not me again?), but asking me to vote on one of six books that former winners, finalists and judges had decided on. Interesting that none of them were recent winners. I had to go back to the 50’s to find most of these titles. Anyway, here they are:

John Cheever “The Stories of John Cheever”

Ralph Ellison “Invisible Man”

William Faulkner “Collected Stories of William Faulkner”

Flannery O’Connor “The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor”

Thomas Pynchon “Gravity’s Rainbow”

Eudora Welty “The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty”

I think it’s really hard for single books to go up against someone’s entire body of work and in this case, I think that Ellison and Pynchon have the disadvantage, and you know I like an underdog, so I will vote for one of these two. To be fair, I’ll reread them both between now and October 21, when voting is over, then make my decision.

You can weigh in on your favorite as well.

Happy reading!

