Surprises

I’m surprised that the Swine Flu didn’t take my son and I down more. I’m even more surprised that even though we quarantined ourselves in the house, neither my husband or my daughter got it. My son and I are definitely on the mend. Neither of us want to lie in bed anymore, and we’re eating a little. But the whole quarantine thing is beginning to drive me nuts. I need to get out of the house. I’ll be careful, I swear! Yesterday when we went out to vote I used hand sanitizer before I went into the booth.

(Speaking of the election, the Christie win was a total surprise to me. And yes, I voted for Huttle for Englewood mayor. Because I’m a good little Democrat, that’s why. I was not surprised at the Bloomberg win in NY, but were I still a NY resident I would have voted for Bill Thompson. I just don’t think it was right for Bloomberg to buy his way into a 3rd term even though I think he was a terrific mayor for the last 8 years. It’s a matter of principle. And I’m beginning to wonder if anyone in politics has any principle at all. I’m still holding out hope for the Prez, but some days, I’m not so sure.)

Anyway. I need to get out of this house. I know we’ll all be better in a couple of days and then I can go about my business, but until then, I’m totally stir crazy. Web surfing is no substitute for going outside and doing stuff. And sitting on the porch covered in blankets just isn’t going to cut it.

At least it gives me more time to catch up with my NaNoWriMo novel. I’m all about the bright side these days. And for me, that’s quite a surprise.

