’09 Writing Lesson: Just Keep Moving

I’m looking forward to 2010 if only because I have a lot to do and I’m anxious to get to it. The biographies of Sharon Creech and Al Gore, finishing my 3rd novel, editing my 4th, and hopefully a lot more freelance work. 2009 was a packed year and I like it that way. But before 2010, I’m taking a moment to look back.

I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions, but reflecting on the past year is the only way to see patterns and make improvements.

In ’09 I had a bit of heartache with my 2nd novel but I also edited a 3rd and drafted a 4th. The theme of ’09 seemed to be “just keep moving” based on my continued output. It was good because it kept me from wallowing in the bad spots, which I tend to do a lot. I will keep this new theme in my writing repertoire.

It also became clear in ’09 that I have problems with Voice. It’s right up there with Plot and Conflict, but Voice is where I fall short. After an interesting Christmas vacation during which I kept my trap shut over some family issues, I began to wonder if someone who keeps her thoughts to herself can write a character with a strong voice. So I will be making personal changes and see if it translates into my professional life. Should be interesting! I’ll let you know if my family disowns me. And if my characters become more compelling.

I know this is brief, but who says that reflecting on the year has to be long and drawn out? I encourage you to look at your writing each year and see what your writing needs were. That way you’re sure to keep moving forward.

Happy New Year everyone!

