Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit

When I was a kid, on the first morning of every month, my dad would come into my bedroom with a big grin to wake me up and remind me to say “rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” for good luck. And by the looks of my desk this morning, I am going to need some luck this month.

Not all of the mess is mine. My daughter does her homework here. The green book to the left of my laptop is a biography of Charles Drew who is her Black History Month project. And her outline and index card notes are scattered around. But all of the other books are mine, research for the bios or my own writing work.

So in case you were wondering how messy some writers’ desks can be, now you know.

2 thoughts on “Rabbit, rabbit, rabbit

  1. Elpha Dee Dennis says:

    Rabbit,rabbit,rabbit! I’m gonna test that claim.Well I’m gonna tell you that a messy desk (like yours)just tells me that alot of research is done.So keep it up.Daughter good luck(rabbit,rabbit,rabbit) with your project.

  2. Tracey says:

    Good luck to you too, Elpha. Here’s the trick with the whole “rabbit” thing. You have to say it as soon as you wake up in the morning before you utter another sound, and then, (THEN!) you will have luck all month long! But only say it once, or you lose the luck.

Comments are closed.