Things we lost in the flood

Sorting out with superman's "help"

Saturday was rough. The lights were back, as was the heat and the hot water. It was time to examine the carnage in the basement.

We let the kids play in the backyard while we got everything out.

Of the six boxes of things I had in the basement, the three that were on the bottom and that  took the brunt of the water damage, contained all the things that completely broke my heart to lose. Albums, journals, manuscripts, the original notebooks for my older stories, including “Angel’s Grace.” The stuff on the top three boxes were art supplies and some other stuff that I was planning to throw out anyway. So that was really, really awesome. We dried out as many things as we could, but there were many things that we just had to let go. It hurt. Then we started looking at the computer equipment, and after filling a couple of garbage bags, we started to hope that some of the stuff would dry out. Eventually.

I’m sure you’re thinking why did I have such important things in the basement. Well, they weren’t originally in the basement. They were quite safe in the attic. But when my mother needed to move in temporarily, we moved all that stuff down there, and her stuff into the attic. Although she has since moved out, we hadn’t gotten around to putting everything back, partly  because she left a lot of her stuff… in the attic.

Some days I just want to curl into a ball and go to sleep and wish everything away for a while. Saturday was definitely one of those days.

5 thoughts on “Things we lost in the flood

  1. karen says:

    I am so so sorry Tracey! That’s terrible. I’m crossing my fingers that the computer stuff dries, and quickly. Doesn’t sometimes seem like Mother Nature just wants to f with us?

  2. Tracey says:

    I feel like this year has been one crazy thing after another and it’s not even the end of March! Let’s hope this is the end of it.

  3. Tracey says:

    There was one thing that got completely doused in water, that managed (miraculously) to stay pretty safe. It was a story I wrote in Grad school, illustrated with water colors. Had they not been in an album with sealed pages, those would be lost now, and they are irreplaceable. I haven’t really painted since then and I know I could not duplicate the images. Fortunately, only the cover is a bit damaged.

Comments are closed.