April… May…

This morning I settled down to start working on the Gore bio again. 30,000 words, 8 chapters, 37 days to go. And then I looked at my contract again. It’s due on May 31st, not April 30th. Well hi-diddley-ho! An extra month! I know you think I’m insane to try to write an entire book in 37 days (well, I already wrote the first chapter, so technically it’s not an ENTIRE book), but I’ve done it before. I’ve gotten so used to tight deadlines that I barely bat an eye at them anymore. Yes, they are still stress-inducing, and yes, I am famous for the last-minute panic, but I have gotten used to tight turnarounds. And I don’t feel that my work is compromised by them at all. My research, as I’ve said before, is meticulous. So a lot of the work is done on the front end.

Former Vice President Al Gore in his home office in Nashville, TN. (Time magazine)

Anyway, good news for me. And since I have no other upcoming projects other than my own novel, I can really give ol’ Al a lot of attention.

By the way, here’s a link to Al Gore’s blog. Your source for all that good saving the planet info.

2 thoughts on “April… May…

  1. Susan Gaddis says:

    What a nice surprise. I hope you enjoy the breather and then the rush. Wish I could respond to deadlines like you do. That old “high school test freeze” reflex is just too tight in me, I guess.

  2. Tracey says:

    Hi Susan!
    It was such a nice surprise in fact, that I’ve written a total of 5 words today and don’t feel bad about it at all.
    The more you deal with deadlines, the better you will get at handling them.

Comments are closed.