Map out your story

On Tuesday when I was struggling (before I bolted to the mall) I started to look up plot graphs. I remembered that Nathan Bransford had done one for LOOKING FOR ALASKA, and I thought/hoped that it might help to focus me on my work. Among other things, I came across this:

Can you tell what story it’s from? Of course it would take a teacher to create something this great. It’s basically a visual map of the entire plot of the story. And it’s a fabulous way to get kids to think about story/plot. But it might actually be a really handy tool for visual writers as they try to work out their own plot lines.

Heck, I’m going to try it. Eventually.

Of course, a traditional plot graph looks like this:

Effective, but boring. However, it’s probably what I’m going to use to keep myself organized.

For more story maps and plot graphs search for “story plot graphs” in your browser.

Now join me in rubbing your hands together and wickedly laughing, “mwah ha ha ha ha!” whilst plotting your latest revenge… I mean story.

4 thoughts on “Map out your story

  1. Valarie says:

    Good going Tracey i love what you wrote about the Soucouyant /vampire, i would like to read that book i think it will be lots of fun.

  2. Tracey says:

    Valarie, I would really like to read my soucouyant story too! But I have to WRITE the darn thing first! So annoying. Why can’t it just write itself?

    Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Comments are closed.