If you give a mouse to Lenny…

Remember Lenny from OF MICE AND MEN? Remember how he killed that soft mouse in his pocket when he was only trying to pet it? Remember how awful you felt when that happened? Well imagine your brand new idea is a mouse. And you’re Lenny. Maybe you want to ease up a little.

Hemingway once said, “Always stop while you are going good and don’t think about it or worry about it until you start to write the next day. That way your subconscious will work on it all the time. But if you think about it consciously or worry about it you will kill it and your brain will be tired before you start.”

Sharon Creech goes a little further. When she can’t work something out, she takes a nap. Creech calls them “research naps” or “creativity naps.” When she wakes up, things are more clear.

For the last couple of days, I’ve had a lot of half-formed ideas buzzing around my head. It’s tempting to write everything down, but I have learned that sometimes flimsy ideas need a little time to grow into something bigger. So before I scrutinize my idea to death, I’m going to take a break and let my mind do a little work in the background.

So. Who wants to help me organize my closet?

[Image from: http://johnsteinbecksmiceandmen.blogspot.com/]

