It’s perfect in my head

I’m at that point in my story when it’s absolute perfection. The characters are perfectly flawed. The plot is appropriately thick. The grip on the reader is winched tight. And it’s all because I haven’t actually written very much yet.

Come on, you know that place. It’s where the entire potential of your story lies out in front of you. You  see the end result: final manuscript, soon to be Beautiful Book. Your future is perfect:

Beautiful Book is loved by agent.

Beautiful Book wins unprecedented publishing contract.

Beautiful Book is adored by millions.

Beautiful Book garners critical praise.

Beautiful Book redeems author from all past faux pas…

OK. Even I’m laughing now.

But it’s fun to pretend, isn’t it? And now, back to the grueling ink and paper reality of making Beautiful Book from imagination into actual story.

I knock the words out of my head and directly into computer. Genius!

4 thoughts on “It’s perfect in my head

  1. Tracey says:

    Hi Rehana,
    Voice dictation software is great, but right now, everything’s still a bit of a jumble in my head. Although I know it’ll be great once it’s all laid out (or I think it will be) it’s still too soon to dictate the whole story through.

    Do you use dragon for your own work? I’m always curious about other people’s methods.

    Thanks for posting!

  2. alfiesaden says:

    hi there – is it just me !! can any one explain why when i type in the firefox browser “traceybaptiste.wordpress.com” i get a different site yet whe i type it in google its ok? could this be a bug in my system or is any one else having same probs ?
    alfies

  3. Tracey says:

    That’s weird, alfiesaden. I’m not sure why that is. Maybe WordPress is having some difficulties with Firefox. In the meantime, just use Google! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know, though!

Comments are closed.