Who needs Barnes & Noble?

When there are great indie bookstores like Watchung Booksellers in Montclair, NJ, the appeal of large chain bookstores goes out the window. I’m not just saying that because the bookstore was the scene of my first bookstore event, or that they recently had me back to talk about the children’s publishing industry, but because they have an ongoing commitment to books, and to the people who create them. Their Writing Matters series goes into all the lovely nooks and crannies of the publishing industry, so that their customers can learn stuff. For free. And then the customers can become authors themselves, who will be welcomed back for awesome book events!

Man, I love book people.

Here are some pix of the night with me and the other children’s authors, Susanna Reich, Crystal Velazquez and Troy CLE.

We're introduced, surrounded by beautiful books.

Like all Trinis, I talk with my hands.

My kids wonder if I'll ever stop talking.

Done! Whew!

4 thoughts on “Who needs Barnes & Noble?

  1. Tracey says:

    It was great to meet you as well, Crystal. I will definitely keep in touch. Please let me know when your next book comes out. My daughter and I will attend the signing.

  2. Tracey says:

    Thanks JDee. And yes, that is the elusive Mrs. Winter! She and her brand new husband came out to hang out with us since we were in their ‘hood.

Comments are closed.