Prolific

Yesterday I wrote a little over 1,800 words. I’ve been averaging about 1.5k words (5 pages) per day and berating myself for not writing more. But how does my average really stack up against other writers? I found this article a few days ago. Here’s the Cliff’s Notes version:

SUPER FAST, PROBABLY ROBOTS BUILT BY ALIENS AND LEFT ON EARTH TO MOCK OTHER WRITERS:
Didymus Chalkenteros: 3500 books in his lifetime
P.G. Wodehouse: 90 books, 20 film scripts and about 30 plays/musicals
Ezra Pound: 8 books, 100 magazine articles in 6 years
John Grisham: 40 pages/day
R.F. Delderfield: 33 pages/day
Victor Hugo: 20 pages/day

REGULAR HUMAN-PACED NOVELISTS
Erle Stanley Gardener: 13 pages/day
Stephen King: 2000 words/day
Jack London: 1000 – 1500 words/day

ARE YOU DONE YET?
Edmund Morris: 300 words/day
J.R.R. Tolkien: 670,000 words in 11 years (THE LORD OF THE RINGS)
Tom Wolfe: 370,000 words in 11 years (A MAN IN FULL)

But these are all MEN! I wonder if the stats from female writers would be different.

2 thoughts on “Prolific

Comments are closed.