Outlines work

After spending the weekend crafting an outline for my new novel, I wrote 3,905 words yesterday without batting an eye. That’s more than I’ve ever done in a day, more than twice my usual output.

Granted, I’m currently very much invested in finishing this novel because: a) I just want to get it done already. b) I’m currently looking for work, so I’m not sure how much time I’ll have if/when I find work. c) I fear that the manuscript that’s out on submission now isn’t faring too well.

However, that was also true last week when I had no  outline and I was just making it to 2,000 words/day.

So. Outlines work.

Go make one.

2 thoughts on “Outlines work

  1. amanda says:

    I agree (though grudgingly, so). My output also dramatically increases when I outline. But, sometimes, you just have to roll with it.

  2. Tracey says:

    I didn’t outline for my first novel and it worked great. But I have really been struggling with this novel and the outline has proved helpful so far in clarifying the major plot points. I’ve already deviated from it, and I think that’s natural. The story has to go where it wants to go. But the outline is definitely keeping the structure intact.

Comments are closed.