When you say ‘yes’ and your character says ‘no’

Last week I more than doubled my writing output from the week before, and I was feeling all self-satisfied about having proven my point about lovely and well-organized outlines. And then my main character went and got all SURLY with another character, which meant that the other character didn’t give her what she wanted, so my main character decided to break into a building to get it anyway.

What?

I had not planned on THAT!

I’m pissed.

I could beat my character into submission and force her to go back to my outline, but she’s so stubborn, she’d probably do it all over again, so I might as well get on with it. Now I have to figure out how to get this kid into the building, nab some files, and get back out again without anyone noticing.

Very. Annoying.

4 thoughts on “When you say ‘yes’ and your character says ‘no’

  1. Tracy Hahn-Burkett says:

    Yes, but characters coming so alive that they do things you don’t expect? LOVE that. To me, it’s the best feeling in writing, even if occasionally their actions need to be edited out. Have fun with them!

  2. Karen says:

    Hm…suddenly this became a bit of a thriller! I’m curious to how you will proceed.

    I just finished Gayle Forman’s IF I STAY, and in the author note she mentions that her main character came to her fully formed…as a cellist. She had to do all kinds of research because she knew nothing about the cello.

    Looking forward to more updates!

  3. Tracey says:

    You might be right that I’m writing a thriller. Things are getting a little out of control. I just had a brand new guy show up in the middle of the whole break-in episode. WHO IS THIS GUY?

    It’s craziness over here.

    At this point, I’m mostly writing just to see what happens next!

Comments are closed.