Nanowrimo ’10 Day 2: Pace Yourself

I’m sure your day 1 total rocks. Mine’s 1829. Not impressive? Maybe not… yet.

After I hit the requisite 1667 yesterday, I kept going only until I came to the next transition. I knew what was going to happen next, but I decided not to write it. I wanted to wait. It’s the whole stop while the going’s good thing. A little trick I learned from a guy named Hemingway. Heard of him?

This year I decided on applying some strategy. And it’s simple. I’m pacing myself. There’s a reason the fabled tortoise ends up the victor, and not the hare. What I learned from last year’s NaNoWriMo (in addition to the fact that it pays to outline) is that it’s a marathon, not a sprint. So pacing yourself might help to stave off the dreaded Wall. Last November I hit the wall somewhere around week 3 and didn’t think I’d make it to the end. I got a second wind, but it was really close.

Of course not writing ahead when the going’s good means that if for some reason I can’t write for a couple of days, I’m going  to be behind, but I’m willing to risk it. What’s life without a little risk?

So, are you going to pace yourself, or are you going to run this thing flat out?

One thought on “Nanowrimo ’10 Day 2: Pace Yourself

Comments are closed.