Nanowrimo Day 17: Choose your own adventure

My NaNoWriMo novel has taken a turn for the weird. Not bad, just weird. Plus, some main characters are being left out of this huge middle chunk and they’re jumping at the edges of the page shouting, what about me? So I know that when I re-do this draft, Major Reworking will be necessary. I’m not worried. I don’t consider this draft a real one anyway, more like an exploratory draft.

Exploratory draft. Those words take the pressure off of writing. It’s like saying, I’m not trying to hit it out of the park. I’m just trying to get to the park.

Right now, my manuscript resembles those choose your own adventure books with several different avenues for the reader to follow. I pick a track, follow it, and then go back and write another. Later on, I’ll chose which works best. The outline is my anchor. It allows me to go far afield without missing the major plot points. And things are moving forward. I’m actually very interested in what’s going to happen at the end of this thing, and even more interested in which of these little offshoot tracks are going to wind up working out when I get to the real writing of this novel.

Now that I’ve started thinking of this as an exploration, the writing has become more fun.

2 thoughts on “Nanowrimo Day 17: Choose your own adventure

  1. Tracey says:

    Once I started thinking about it this way, the pressure was off. Plus, it’s a good way to increase your word count with all those exploratory avenues.

Comments are closed.