The timer, the notebook, and the non-robot mom

Now that  my younger child is home with me again, finding time to work is once again difficult. But writing while mommying, (and doing everything else while mommying) is possible with a couple of tools.

The list

Write down whatever you need to do during the day. Laundry, Twitter, writing Christmas cards, making lunch and dinner, all of it. Put an asterisk next to the things that must be done that day. Other than the usual (making meals, playing with Small One, writing) the must list is probably short.

The timer

Assign a time limit for each activity on your list. A kitchen timer is now your best friend for organizing the day. As you start say, folding the laundry, set the timer. When that time is up, move on to the next thing. Seriously, move on. Unless the world will end if you don’t get that thing done today, MOVE ON.

The plan

Plan on activities the Small One can do while you’re writing. Think something long and involved, like building blocks/legos/tinker toys/lincoln logs. I’m also a big advocate of letting them watch Sesame Street for an hour. Yep, I said it. TV! That’s another hour of writing time for you.

The notebook

For all the other times, keep a small notebook and pencil in your pocket, or stash a bunch of them around the house and in the car. When an idea comes to you, write it down. That way it’s not lost to the ether, and at the end of the day, or the following day, you can get it into your story.

The break

Remember to give yourself a break. You’re not going to get everything done, and that’s fine. You’re a mom, not an octopus, or a robot.

[Image from: http://ontario.inetgiant.ca/Ottawa/AdDetails/ENVIRONMENTALLY-FRIENDLY-CLEANING—10-years-in-business-Ottawa/3751837]

2 thoughts on “The timer, the notebook, and the non-robot mom

  1. Amanda Hoving says:

    We are on the same wave-length this morning — I just wrote a post about dominating Monday.

    The timer is key! I must try that one since I’m notorious for giving something “just 15 more minutes” which often turns into hours.

  2. Tracey says:

    The timer is my saver for many things. I also use it to get the kids to do something quickly. I tell them they have 10 minutes to clean up their floors and I set the timer. They can’t argue with the timer when it goes off. Same as I can’t argue if I stared into space for 15 minutes while I was supposed to be cleaning up the breakfast dishes.

Comments are closed.