50k and more to go

This weekend I passed the 50k word mark on my novel. (Yay!) This is the one I started in September and hoped to have finished by the end of the year. So despite the admirable word count, I’m behind schedule. And what’s more, at 50k words, I’m still not close to the conclusion of the novel. The action has ramped up considerably, but there are still a few more hoops that the main character needs to jump through before we  get to that satisfying end.

The problem is, I had intended to have this novel finished in December so that I’d have January/February to work on revising the first few chapters so that I could apply for a Work-in-Progress grant. That’s clearly not going to happen now. The deadline is looming, and I have nothing polished to show for myself.

I’m happy that the book has taken on a life of its own. It makes writing more exciting. And I know you can’t rush art. (If this is art.) But man I wanted to apply for that grant! I’ll probably apply for it anyway, though without a polished manuscript, it’s unlikely that I’ll get it.

Well, there’s always next year.

