A year of reading

You know how in most writing advice books they tell you: if you want to write well, read more? Well, I need to read more. Because clearly the writing isn’t going that well. I mean the rejections are beautiful. Stellar even. But they’re still rejections. And honestly, even if I didn’t want to be a better writer, I’d want to read more anyway. So I’m committing myself to read 100 books this year. OK. Deep breath. I realize that I’m probably not going to meet my goal. But if you want to punch someone in the face, aim for the back of the head right?

To that end, I’ve ordered several books from the library, and I have a few on my Nook that I will tackle as well. Last night I started Pamela Keyes THE JUMBIE, and maybe I can get her on here to discuss it afterward. And I have Katherine Erskine’s MOCKINGBIRD waiting for me at the library right this second.

Here are a few other books I have on my to-read list:

Turtle in ParadiseTURTLE IN PARADISE by Jennifer L. Holm

MOON OVER MANIFEST by Clare Vanderpool

DARK EMPEROR AND OTHER POEMS OF THE NIGHT by Joyce Sidman

HEART OF A SAMURAI by Margi Preus

THEY CALLED THEMSELVES THE KKK by Susan Campbell Bartoletti

THE DREAMER by Pam Munoz Ryan

SHIP BREAKER by Paolo Bacigalupi

ONE CRAZY SUMMER by Rita Willams-Garcia

MIRROR MIRROR by Marilyn Singer

THE EXTRAORDINARY MARK TWAIN by Barbara Kerley

THE EVOLUTION OF CALPURNIA TATE by Jacqueline Kelly

THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS by Rebecca Skloot

PUBLIC ENEMIES by Bernard Henri-Levi and Michel Houellebecq

That should get me through February.

Any books you want to read this year?

6 thoughts on “A year of reading

  1. Charlotte says:

    Oh, gracious. As I write more, I find I read less, which is as you say Unacceptable.

    I have therefore acquired a deliciously tall stack of books lately which I will work my way through over the next few weeks. Fortunately this includes a lot of titles I’ve been wanting to read for ages, so I’m excited about them. Such as:
    – The House of the Stag, by Kage Baker
    – A Little Folly, by Jude Morgan
    – Good Omens by Neil Gaiman
    – Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynne Truss
    – The Winter of Enchantment by Victoria Walker
    – Clouds Among the Stars by Victoria Clayton

    … and others. I am intrigued to find that I don’t recognise most of the titles on your list, I will enjoy looking some of them up. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Crystal Velasquez says:

    My list has grown so long, it’s ridiculous. Tonya’s daughter, Bria, and her friends found it horrifying that I had not finished reading the Twilight series. (sigh) So I guess I’ll get to that. Then I’ll balance it out with my friend Signe Pike’s new book Faery Tale. Then my friend Brian Callaghan’s new book, Seeds of Cain. Then Angel’s Grace by Tracey Baptiste. And the Marvelous World saga by Troy CLE. Then I’ll move on to the stuff I’ve been meaning to read forever:

    Love by Toni Morrison
    The Watchmen (lent to me by my nephew almost a year ago!)
    A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
    How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming by Mike Brown
    Unbroken by Laura Hillebrand
    The Passage by Justin Cronin
    Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austin
    The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

    Jeez. This list could go on for days.

  3. Tracey says:

    @Charlotte: my list comprises mainly award-winning YA novels and some kids’ non-fiction as well. That may be why you’re not familiar with them. I own Truss’ Eats Shoots and Leaves. I also have the kids’ version for my daughter. (It’s about punctuation, and has cute illustrations.) I’m going to have to add a few of yours to my list, too.

    @Crystal: Are you going to read the entire Unfortunate Events series? You know there are 13 books, right? 🙂 I thought of adding The Hunger Games to my list as well, I’ve heard really good things about that series.

  4. Jenny says:

    On Goodreads they have a Reading Challenge where you enter the dates of the books you’ve read on your reviews and it tallies them up for you.

    I’m with you, I’m shooting for 100 books this year. Here’s to reading!

  5. Karen says:

    I read MOCKINGBIRD and ONE CRAZY SUMMER and loved them both. Am reading MOON OVER MANIFEST right now. I’m enjoying it, but so far I like OCS better.

    I’ve also got Ship Breaker on hold at the library. I have so many books on tap just in my apartment, it’s embarrassing. Good luck with the 100!! I am going to try for about 50.

    Also, how’s the Nook? Thinking of getting myself one. Do you recommend?

  6. Tracey says:

    Jenny, I should probably use my Goodreads account then, huh? That sounds very handy actually. Thanks.

    Karen, I love my Nook. I think you’d love it, especially on the commute. You can also borrow books from the library and since you’re in the city, you have a larger selection than I do here in Jerz. Of course I also accidentally left my Nook at the library on Friday. It’s safe. The librarians put it away for me. But imagine if I had left it someplace else? Yikes.

Comments are closed.