When you just hate that book

“This is not a book to be tossed aside lightly. It should be thrown with great force.” — Dorothy Parker

Sometimes you read a book and it frustrates you. The story’s just bad. Or the story’s bad AND it’s a best-seller. Or the main character is whiny and needs a slap in the face. Or it’s offensive. Or worse: it’s boring. You want to wring the author’s neck for wasting your time, or the editor for not slapping the author for you, or the publisher for making it look so appealing. And since none of them are available for neck-wringing, you do the only thing you can. You throw the damn book across the room. (Preferably into a corner for maximum damage as my Twitter friend @robynmcintyre brilliantly suggests.)

I recently had an experience like that, only I was reading on my Nook. I lifted my hand and eyed a spot on the floor. And just as I was about to throw, I remembered that I wasn’t holding a paper book and that my husband had paid a lot of money for my pretty little Nook. So I just put it down.

Where’s the satisfaction in that?

Weeks later, I’m still pissed that I bought a book that offended me. And since I never got to release my pent up frustration, It’s just sitting there. Inert. Annoying. So what’s a girl to do?

1. If you can’t toss the one you hate, toss a substitute. Consider keeping a copy of a book you really hated for tossing purposes. It can be a proxy for that ebook you just can’t stand.

2. Bad mouth it. One of the advantages of being on sites like Goodreads is that you can review books you’ve read. Sure clicking that one star isn’t as satisfying as tossing the book, but at least you’ve said your piece.

3. Read something better. The best way to get over bad prose is to read good prose. Preferably one of your favorite books. The comfort of words you already like will smooth away all the unpleasantness of the last book that got your goat.

Good luck, guys. And may all your future readings be good ones.

 

4 thoughts on “When you just hate that book

Comments are closed.