The 1st 1,000

YOUR DAY: The alarm goes off. You hit snooze. And snooze again. You finally get up. Brush your teeth. Wake the kids. Make breakfast. Pack the lunchboxes. Iron the shirt you meant to iron last night. Get dressed. Yell “we’re leaving in ten minutes!” Get in the car/bus/subway. Go to school. Get to work. Deal with someone else’s idea of productivity.

BUT WHAT IF YOUR DAY STARTED LIKE THIS: The alarm goes off. You hit snooze. And snooze again. You go to your desk. Write. 1,000 words. Afterwards, you get the kids up. You make breakfast…

I like these muses better than the traditional ones.

There’s a big difference in starting the day with your own work. Your own idea of productivity. Your words. Your dream. I’ve heard a lot of writers say that the best time to write is at 4am, when the world is quiet and the muses are unfettered. But waking at 4am is not my idea of a good time. I’m sure muses are around at other times of the day despite the traffic noise and the sounds of pesky children. Maybe we have to work a little harder to catch them, but honestly I’d rather put in that work than wake up at some ungodly hour. I really can’t write before I get the kids off to school, but since I work from home, I can still have the 1st 1,000 words I write be my own work before I start doing any freelance stuff, or even writing this blog.

It’s important to start with you. It focuses your mind on your own intentions. It sets the precedent that your work is more important to you than anyone else’s. It makes the muses stand up and pay attention. They know that you mean business. And then maybe you won’t have to work so hard to find them. If they know your schedule, they’ll come to you.

[Image from Disney.com]

