Chasing the end

The more I write, the more I realize I have a particular style of writing. And that is this:

a) Get excited by new story idea.

b) Write/plot like a workaholic up through the middle.

c) Wrangle plot tangles like I got a Ph.D in plot-taming from Plot-Taming U.

d) Struggle through to the near end.

e) Get enticed by an ALL NEW story idea and see the end of the previous story fizzle.

So. Freaking. Annoying. Why does this happen? WHYYYYY? It’s not that I don’t want to finish that last story. I do! I hate incomplete things. I hate quitting! But I genuinely get stuck and the new story is SO GOOD that I struggle with completing what I’m working on. And because I refuse to start working on a new story when the old one is still undone, nothing is happening right now. And that’s bad, right?

[Photo by Adam Jones adamjones.freeservers.com]

