A return to teaching

Lately I’ve been thinking of returning to the classroom as a teacher. I loved teaching when I was a teacher. What I hated was the administrative stuff. The ridiculous requirements. The stressful and ineffective testing. Administrators who seemed to care more about politics than the kids who were in my classroom. And while I think that’s actually gotten worse since I left teaching, I’m still passionate about the profession. And I wonder if it wouldn’t be better to try to change education from the inside as a teacher, than from the outside as a parent and presenter.

My husband reminds me of the extremely late hours I kept trying to individualize lessons for my students while still keeping up with the required (though often off-the-mark) textbook work. He also reminds me how miserable I was that teaching seemed to be more about numbers than children. He makes a good point.

But there comes a time when you have to stop talking and start doing.

So I’m thinking about it. Seriously.

4 thoughts on “A return to teaching

  1. Dr. Kwame M. Brown says:

    Tracey, have you thought about teaching for KIPP? Mike Feinberg, IMO, has some good ideas. It is not always executed to perfection in every school, but KIPP has had really good success.

  2. Tracey says:

    I haven’t even thought of where I’d teach, if I do return, Kwame. Someone else just asked what it would mean for my writing if I did return to teaching. And truthfully, it’s one of the reasons I left because I spent so much time working on stuff for the kids that there was hardly any time to write, and that was before I had my own kids, so I don’t know. But I’ll look into KIPP. Thank you.

  3. Karen says:

    Well, I would have loved to have you as a teacher, so as long as the stress doesn’t affect your health, you should think about it. You could always try a private school — don’t they allow for more flexibility?

  4. Tracey says:

    Private school was my first thought. My first teaching job was at a private school, and I basically wrote the curriculum. They were great about allowing the teachers to use their creativity. I moved on for a public school closer to where I lived, but I really missed that school.

Comments are closed.